R.I.P Leonard Nimoy (1931 – 2015)

Today is my birthday and while I should be celebrating it’s tinged with the sadness that Leonard Nimoy is no longer with us having passed away yesterday from COPD. I, like many Star Trek fans are of an age where all our heroes are now departing beyond the veil of existence.

I am amazed at the outpouring of tributes from fans, former cast members and those whose lives Leonard Nimoy has touched, he was truly one of the most human souls in all the galaxy.

Suddenly the universe seems like an “emptier” place without you.

Farewell my friend and thank you for your legacy as Spock. May you and the crew of the USS Enterprise continue to entertain and amaze us for future generations to come.

I shall raise a glass and drink to your memory dear friend.

