A Farewell to Things…

As October was rapidly approaching I found myself doing something unusual, don’t worry it’s nothing weird just spending a few evenings at the PC writing up some documentation. For those of you who are not aware I have been heavily involved in managing the Rush EuCon website since 2011 when my name was passed onto the organisers by a mutual acquaintance.

I realised that the whole world finally knew what I’d been telling people all these years… that Rush was the greatest cult rock band of all time.

I took on the project as it was a charity event and knowing the organisers as being more muso’s than techies I offered to help them in getting their website up and running to promote the event.

Taking on a project like this presented something of a challenge. Unlike most designers I had no real brief on what they wanted and ultimately this left me with full creative control over the finished product. While it was an interesting diversion from my day job working in Technical Support for an ISP, and provided me with some valuable web design experience. It was also prone to some very intense activity in a matter of a few weeks virtually taking over what precious spare time I had.

I wish my successor all the best in their endeavours and hope that they enjoy the experience.

Fast forward to 2014 and four years had passed by and I’d completed what was to become my final incarnation of the EuCon site. I’d probably spent at least 5-6 hours every night and all my weekends for over a month researching the current trends in web design and developing the site. I felt like I’d achieved what I wanted to do and that I’d run out of “rocket sauce” in a creative sense and needed to take a step back from it all.

Because of this I decided to announce that I was considering standing down from the role and that it was time to pass on the torch to someone new to carry on the work. I would continue to manage the site until the event in October to give them time to find someone willing to take on the challenge. I wish my successor all the best in their endeavours and hope that they enjoy the experience.

These days I consider myself a Rush Fan in remission. I haven’t really listened to much of their music for some time, the new material just doesn’t seem to “speak” to me the way it the old stuff used to (old Rush good, new Rush bad…). “Clockwork Angels” only managed 3 plays in the car on the way into work… gone are the days when I would purposely allow myself to become absorbed by the music…

The last EuCon event I’d been to was back in 2007, which was held at the Manchester Academy 2 and was in all honesty lacking in atmosphere as it was nothing like the Limelight Club in Crewe and I left feeling a little disappointed, I’d enjoyed them up to that point. Sadly that was to be my last EuCon as the recession had other plans for me and I no longer felt the same way about the band like I used to.

I guess being a rabid fan of a band for over 20 years to the exclusion of everything else can sometimes do that to you. The turning point for me was when I saw the critically acclaimed documentary “Beyond the Lighted Stage” that I realised that the whole world finally knew what I’d been telling people all these years… that Rush was the greatest cult rock band of all time. Job done… time to move on…

Now where’s the Exit..? Ah over there… “Stage Left”

exit stage left

