Being a Superstar Contractor

For many people becoming a contractor is not a lifestyle choice you should make hastily e.g. jump out of bed and think “I think I’ll become a contractor”.

I for one didn’t choose contracting out of choice but more out of necessity in order to survive in these difficult economic times.

I look at each opportunity as a chance to “shine” brightly in front of an client.

While contracting has its advantages, you can choose who you work for, take long holidays, claim expenses etc. There are also disadvantages such as it is very much something of a gypsy lifestyle, moving from job to job, never putting down roots, treating every day as your first day of work. And there is also the “bench” where every contractor will find themselves while in-between contracting gigs.

While there is money to be made if you have highly sought after skills, for many of us who are more mainstream e.g. IT Support, it can feel like a never-ending cycle of job applications, interviews, knock backs and occasional successes.

Now you may have noticed that I used the phrase “gig” to describe a contract role, and that’s exactly the approach I take. I look at each opportunity as a chance to “shine” brightly in front of an client.

This is where I like to feel that I can make a difference.

So what are the qualities you need to have to be a “Superstar”…?

  • Be Punctual
  • Dress the part
  • Give no less than 100% in everything you do
  • Be courteous and professional with your colleagues
  • Have a positive “can do” attitude
  • Take on even the most menial tasks with enthusiasm

Remember first impressions last and if you perform above and beyond the call of duty you will not only gain recommendations from your clients, but it can also yield positive outcomes in the future.

This approach had paid dividends for me as I have been called back by previous clients without even needing an interview because my reputation is so strong!

To my clients I am not just another contractor I am a Superstar!

