Goodbye 2009 we hardly missed you!

Happy New YearAs I write this the final hours of 2009 are drawing to a close, and with it a lot of excess “baggage” in my personal life can finally be left behind.

The start of 2009 was welcomed by the cold biting wind of the global credit crunch whose effects are still being felt even today. It also marked the first time in almost 20 years that I found myself unemployed, which in itself was a major headache as I now have the welfare of my own family to consider. Being in work for so long had made me complacent and insulated me from the changing employment landscape. It’s amazing how one bad career descision can have repercussions long after the event.

Luckily for me I did have a few lucky breaks through working as a freelance IT Consultant (yes, you heard that right). While for many the work may have seemed as not cutting edge or challenging enough I looked upon this as a golden opportunity to do the jobs no-one wanted to do and do them “better”. This has resulted in positive feedback to the agencies I’ve worked through and serves to bolster my strong reputation as someone who can be counted on to get the job done.

Also this year was a year of missed opportunities. At the fall of 2008 I had strongly considered “going it alone” and setting up business on my own. However at the time I did not feel confident that I could make a go of it. Looking into the characteristics of entrepreneurs, the common quality was a “just do it” attitude as fortune favours the bold. Anyway building a business up from scratch is hardly rocket science, it just takes guts, determination and an iron will to succeed. If the venture fails just close it down and try something else and keep trying until you find something that works for you.

It has also been a year where I have considered changing careers and pursuing other interests. In an effort to do something a little different I had enrolled on several cookery courses at my local Adult Education Centre. The result of this is that I have broadened my culinary repertoire and learnt to create new dishes from Chinese, Indian and Thai styles of cooking. Personally I consider my Chicken Xacuti (Shaktay) to be my greatest achievement!

I have also taken the plunge and decided to learn a new language. I have chosen to follow my long standing interest and fondness for the East and I am learning to speak Japanese. It’s hard work but I am starting to pick up some of the vocabulary and can handle simple greetings and exchanges.

So what does 2010 hold..? I personally hope to close the door on the past years disappointments and focus on the positive things I have gained. things like spending quality time with my family, picking the children up from school etc. I have learned that things like financial success do not matter to me as much as being happy.

So whoever you are, or wherever you are reading this page from may I wish you a Happy New Year and hope that some of your wishes and dreams come true in 2010.

Peace.

“Inochi o kakete tobidaseba” (Leaping on faith)

