One week and counting…

It’s funny how something you’re asked can become the catalyst for a post. The other day one of my colleagues asked me if I could find out where he could get the theme tune the BBC series “Moving On” as he was planning to use it for his daughter’s presentation video on leaving college. It made me wonder about the weeks events. A recent report stated that people spend on average approximately 3.2 years with an employer before moving on and that they may have as many as 12 jobs throughout their working life. That’s a whole lot of job interviews and first days and leaving do’s!

The opportunity to reflect on what has been, the good times and the bad times

On Friday the majority of the contractors finished here at MMU, the agency we were with has apparantly decided to pull out of the contract staff market leaving us all high and dry. This week its my turn (hence the title) and I can’t help but feel for those people I’ve had the pleasure of working with. For a brief moment I felt like I was part of it all again, only to be reminded that my stay was nothing more than a transitory period in my life… We discussed what our plans were, what we had lined up (if anything) and just chilled out a bit. After all if you think about these things too deeply you’re likely to go completely nuts!

It all comes back to that phrase “Moving On”. For many of us it’s about closing a chapter in our lives, letting go of responsibilities and allowing ourselves to be swept wherever the tide takes us. Moving on can also be a positive thing, it affords us the opportunity to reflect on what has been, the good times and the bad times (though its *always* better to dwell on the good!). For me, being in a job even temporarily has been beneficial as its allowed me to get my car back on the road (an absolute *must*) and has given my day some much needed structure, not to mention getting Sky+ HD!

I do at times wonder whether there’s a chance that I can take control over the direction I’m headed in? I’m not sure, perhaps none of us have any real choice in the matter… I’d like to believe that we all have the capability of choosing our destinies within reason, but in these difficult times hope seems to be a bit thin on the ground. Even though this post seems to be “doom and gloom” I am still confident that the real answer is to go it alone as our government is of no use whatsoever, they are too busy milking the money we pay in taxes and patting themselves on the back for a job well done…

So what next..? Well that’s something for another post…

